Thursday, June 7, 2012

Great Updates for CyberPatriot V

With more than 415 teams in 47 states already being organized, educators across the country are securing their spot in the nation’s largest and fastest growing high school cyber defense competition, CyberPatriot V!  

CyberPatriot is a team-based activity, where students learn to defend a computer network from real-life computer threat scenarios. Among those now registered are also teams from U.S. Department of Defense Dependent Schools in Korea and Italy, and teams from the Manitoba Province of Canada. Iowa, Montana, and South Dakota are the only U.S. states yet to be represented.
AFA President Michael Dunn (left) and Executive Director of
U.S. Naval Sea Cadet Corps Jim Monahan (right) signing the MoU
for the Sea Cadets' participation in CyberPatriot V
And NOW today AFA announced the addition of the Naval Sea Cadet Corps as new subcategory in the nation’s largest and fastest growing high school cyber defense competition, CyberPatriot. Thus far, CyberPatriot has had five subcategories in their All Service Division, comprised of Junior ROTC units of the Air Force, Army, Navy and Marine Corps, and Civil Air Patrol units. Now, the Naval Sea Cadet Corps joins the division.

The United States Naval Sea Cadet Corps is a U.S. Navy-based organization that serves to teach individuals 13 to 17 years old about the sea-going military services, U.S. Naval operations and training, community service, citizenship, and an understanding of discipline and teamwork. For more than 50 years, the mission of the Naval Sea Cadet Corps has been to provide American youth with leadership abilities through hands-on training.

CyberPatriot IV saw more than 1,000 teams register. Top winners from each division received more than $50,000 in college scholarships from the Northrop Grumman Foundation, CyberPatriot’s presenting sponsor. Other CyberPatriot sponsors include founding partners SAIC and CIAS at the University of Texas-San Antonio, as well as AT&T, Boeing, General Dynamics, Microsoft, Raytheon, the Air Force Research Laboratory, MIT-Lincoln Laboratory, Cisco, URS and K2Share.

Registration for CyberPatriot V closes on September 30, 2012. Learn more about CyberPatriot and sign up at (or from the CyberPatriot staff at

1 comment:

The Air Force Association Blog said...
This comment has been removed by the author.