Monday, August 13, 2012

2012 Oustanding Airmen of the Year

AFA today announced the 2012 Twelve Outstanding Airmen of the Year!

Each year, the Air Force and AFA recognize 12 outstanding enlisted personnel for superior leadership, job performance, community involvement and personal achievements. Then, we proudly honor these Outstanding Airmen at the annual National Convention/Air & Space Conference and Technology Exposition in the Washington, D.C. area. [AFA initiated the OAY program in 1956, when we held the 10th annual National Convention.]
“This time of the year is always an honor to us at AFA as we get to distinguish a dozen of our airmen who are among the best and brightest in their respective organizations,” said Sandy Schlitt, AFA Chairman of the Board. “Their dedication to duty is quite admirable and we commend them for their service.”
The Chief Master Sergeant of the Air Force, a general officer and selected Major Command chiefs form the selection board. The Air Force Chief of Staff reviews the selections. The Twelve Outstanding Airmen are awarded the Outstanding Airmen ribbon with the bronze service star device and wear the Outstanding Airmen badge for one year. They also serve on the Air Force Enlisted Council for one year.

12 Outstanding Airmen of the Year (by command of assignment when selected):
  • Staff Sgt. Angelo C. Banks, Air Education and Training Command
  • Master Sgt. Alan M. Braden, Air Force Materiel Command
  • Staff Sgt. Cory T. Branham, Air Combat Command
  • Senior Airman Bryenna L. Brooks, Air Force Global Strike Command
  • Tech. Sgt. Brandon C. Bruner, Air Force Special Operations Command
  • Senior Airman Matthew J. Butler, Air Force District of Washington
  • Senior Master Sgt. Laura A. Callaway, Air Mobility Command
  • Senior Master Sgt. Emilio Hernandez, U.S. Air Forces in Europe
  • Senior Airman Nicholas A. Hurt, Air Force Space Command
  • Master Sgt. Sandra L. Plentzas, Air Force Reserve Command
  • Tech. Sgt. Matthew G. Stark, Pacific Air Forces
  • Senior Master Sgt. Luke W. Thompson, Air National Guard
For bios on each of this year's recipients and the full AFA release, check out:

No comments: