Monday, May 12, 2014

AFROTC Awards at the University of Florida

What a great show of community support! Below is a picture of the Arnold Air Society (AAS) cadets at the University of Florida with the AFA Red Tail Memorial Chapter.

Pictured on the far left is Lt. Col. Kevin Crocco, Operations Officer for Det. 150 AFROTC at the University of Florida. On Crocco's left is Mike Emig, Red Tail Memorial Chapter 136 President. Pictured third from the right is Col. (Ret.) Michael Hare, Red Tail Memorial Chapter 136 Vice President of Aerospace Education.
The University of Florida’s Air Force ROTC Det. 150 hosted their annual AFROTC Awards Program lats month. At this event, the AFA Red Tail Memorial Chapter presents an AFA Award to a deserving cadet. This year’s award went to Cadet Richard Crumrine.

Many of UF’s AAS cadets attend the chapter’s monthly meetings and help with the chapter’s many veterans and Junior ROTC programs in the five-county community, said chapter president Mike Emig. This group has also been the recipient of the Lemay-Ohio Award, he added.

The LeMay-Ohio Award was established by the General Curtis E. LeMay Squadron of The Ohio State University. The award recognizes the squadron best displaying ability, effort, and enthusiasm in supporting their local AFA chapter(s). The award consists of a permanent plaque.

“This is a great bunch of cadets,” Emig said. “[They are] our leaders of tomorrow.”

No comments: