Thursday, June 30, 2011

2011 Air & Space Highlights: Outstanding Airmen of the Year

Each year, 12 airmen are selected by the office of the CMSAF as the best enlisted personnel in the Air Force. They stand out among their peers for their superior leadership, job performance, community involvement, and personal achievements. AFA proudly honors these Outstanding Airmen at its annual Air & Space Conference and Technology Exposition!

The OAY program was initiated at the Air Force Association's 10th annual national Convention, held in New Orleans in 1956. The Chief Master Sergeant of the Air Force, a general officer and selected Major Command chiefs form the selection board. The Air Force Chief of Staff reviews the selections. The Twelve Outstanding Airmen are awarded the Outstanding Airmen ribbon with the bronze service star device and wear the Outstanding Airmen badge for one year. They also serve on the Air Force Enlisted Council for one year. [More about the history of the OAY program can be found here:]

While the OAY is honored at the annual Conference with a reception and ceremony, they are also escorted to an exclusive five-day program that includes visits with Air Force Leaders, professional development workshops, a tour of DC, visits with congressional representatives and other special events throughout the nation’s capital.
2010 Outstanding Airmen of the Year 

The 2010 OAY winners  represented every region from this country, from a combat control craftsman with the 21st Special Tactics Squadron in Pope AFB, NC to a financial management journeyman from 56th Comptroller Squadron, Luke AFB, AZ. These men and women represent the very best in their fields, having demonstrated exceptional commitment and performance.

No comments: