Friday, February 1, 2013

CyberPatriot Names Finalists in National Competition

After three impressive preliminary rounds, 28 teams of high school students have advanced to the National Finals Competition of the nation’s largest and fastest growing high school cyber defense competition – CyberPatriot V!
This year’s finalists represent Alabama, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Louisiana, Massachusetts, Missouri, New Mexico, Ohio, South Dakota, Texas, and Virginia. Two teams from Manitoba, Canada will also compete at the National Finals Competition as International Exhibition Teams.
CyberPatriot—The National High School Cyber Defense Competition, an education initiative established by the Air Force Association, is a one-of-a-kind cyber defense competition designed to inspire students to consider science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) fields in their studies. The unique structure helps to prepare college- and career-ready students with not just technical skills, but also invaluable experience in teamwork, leadership, and critical-thinking. Competitors also gain great insights and technical expertise from industry leaders, including CyberPatriot’s presenting sponsor the Northrop Grumman Foundation.
Congratulations to the following advancing All Service Division teams:
  • Big Sioux Composite Squadron, Civil Air Patrol, Brookings, South Dakota
  • East Central High School, Army JROTC, San Antonio, Texas
  • John Jay High School, Air Force JROTC, San Antonio, Texas
  • Medina Valley High School, Air Force JROTC, Castroville, Texas
  • Colorado Springs Cadet Squadron, Civil Air Patrol, Colorado Springs, Colorado
  • Covington High School, Navy JROTC, Covington, Louisiana
  • Flour Bluff High School, Navy JROTC, Corpus Christi, Texas
  • Fort Fisher Division 113FOR, Naval Sea Cadet Corps, San Diego, California
  • La Cueva High School, U.S. Marine Corps JROTC, Albuquerque, New Mexico
  • Leilehua High School, Army JROTC, Wahiawa, Hawaii
  • Marine Military Academy, U.S. Marine Corps JROTC, Harlingen, Texas
  • Montachusett Regional Vocational Technical School, U.S. Marine Corps JROTC, Fitchburg, Massachusetts
  • Valor 063VAL, Naval Sea Cadet Corps, Gardendale, Alabama
  • Youngstown ARS Composite Squadron, Civil Air Patrol, Vienna, Ohio  
Congratulations to the following advancing Open Division teams:
  • Chantilly Academy – A Governor’s STEM Academy, Chantilly, Virginia
  • Edward Roybal Learning Center, Los Angeles, California
  • Franklin High School, Los Angeles, California
  • North Hollywood High School, North Hollywood, California (Team 1)
  • North Hollywood High School, North Hollywood, California (Team 2)
  • Alamo Academies – ITSA, New Braunfels, Texas
  • Iolani School, Honolulu, Hawaii
  • Marshall Academy, Falls Church, Virginia (Team 1)
  • Marshall Academy, Falls Church, Virginia (Team 2)
  • MIT Lincoln Laboratory, Lexington, Massachusetts
  • Palos Verdes Peninsula High School, Rolling Hills Estates, California
  • Summit Technology Academy, Lees Summit, Missouri  
All advancing teams receive all-expenses-paid trips to the CyberPatriot National Finals Competition held in the Washington, DC area, in March 14-16, 2013. The National Finals Competition is powered by SAIC’s CyberNEXS, a high-level cyber training and exercise model that is used to help cybersecurity professionals learn to protect critical data assets. 

No comments: